Adam Mascherin named 2016-17 First Team All-Star

Ontario Hockey League

The Ontario Hockey League announced the All-Star teams for the 2016-17 OHL season on Wednesday in Toronto. Kitchener Rangers winger and Florida Panthers prospect Adam Mascherin was named a First Team All-Star, leading the votes at left wing.

Mascherin completed his third OHL season in 2016-17, leading the Rangers in regular season scoring after registering the first 100 point season of his career. He would finish third overall in league scoring, trailing Erie’s Alex DeBrincat and Taylor Raddysh.

The OHL All-Star Teams were selected by the OHL’s general managers.  Players were voted on by position and received five points for a first place vote, three for a second place vote, and one for a third place vote.  In the case of defencemen, the top two selections received five points, the third and fourth selections received three points, and the fifth and sixth selections each received a single point.

2016-17 OHL All-Star Teams (voting points listed following team):

First Team All-Stars:
C – Dylan Strome (Erie Otters) 77 – voted 3rd team in 2015-16, 2nd team in 2014-15
LW – Adam Mascherin (Kitchener Rangers) 83
RW – Alex DeBrincat (Erie Otters) 95 – voted 3rd team in 2015-16, 2nd team in 2014-15
D – Santino Centorame (Owen Sound Attack) 77
D – Darren Raddysh (Erie Otters) 77
G – Michael McNiven (Owen Sound Attack) 89
Coach – Ryan McGill (Owen Sound Attack) 81

Second Team All-Stars:
C – Nick Suzuki (Owen Sound Attack) 67
LW – Jonah Gadjovich (Owen Sound Attack) 52
RW – Petrus Palmu (Owen Sound Attack) 48
D – Ryan Mantha (Niagara IceDogs) 47
D – Mikhail Sergachev (Windsor Spitfires) 39 – voted 1st team in 2015-16
G – Tyler Parsons (London Knights) 27
Coach – Kris Knoblauch (Erie Otters) 53 – voted 1st team in 2015-16, 2nd team in 2013-14

Third Team All-Stars:
C – Cliff Pu (London Knights) 25
LW – Kevin Hancock (Owen Sound Attack) 33
RW – Taylor Raddysh (Erie Otters) 26
D – Filip Hronek (Saginaw Spirit) 25
D – Olli Juolevi (London Knights) 22 – voted 3rd team in 2015-16
G – Michael DiPietro (Windsor Spitfires) 26
Coach – Drew Bannister (Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds) 16




More News
RANGERS VISION: Rapid Fire – Jay McKee presented by Your Neighbourhood Credit Union
2 hours ago
Jr. Canadiens crowned 2018 OHL Cup powered by Under Armour Champions
1 day ago
Kitchener Rangers to face Guelph Storm in Round 1 of playoffs
3 days ago
RANGERS VISION: The Insider - Michael Vukojevic presented by Your Neighbourhood Credit Union
4 days ago
Rangers close out regular season with loss to Storm
4 days ago
HIGHLIGHTS: Storm vs. Rangers - Mar. 16th, 2018
5 days ago