The Ontario Hockey League has announced the finalists for seven of the league’s major awards for the 2014-15 regular season.  Kitchener Rangers goaltender Jake Paterson is a finalist for two trophies, while Darby Llewellyn and Ryan MacInnis are each up for one award.

Paterson will be considered for both the Leo Lalonde Memorial Trophy (Overage Player of the Year) and the Goaltender of the Year Award. The Detroit Red Wings prospect has collected 14 wins since joining the Rangers in a trade with the Spirit at the deadline, and has posted a 2.37 goals against average and a .929 save percentage with two shutouts. Paterson has appeared in 192 regular season games over five seasons with Saginaw and Kitchener.

Third year winger Darby Llewellyn is a finalist for the William Hanley Trophy, awarded to the Most Sportsmanlike Player of the Year. The Ann Arbour native appeared in all 68 regular season games, recording a career best 41 points and serving just 26 penalty minutes.

Finally, sophomore Ryan MacInnis is the Kitchener Rangers’ finalist for the Red Tilson Trophy, nominated as the team’s Most Outstanding Player for 2014-15. The Arizona Coyotes led the Rangers with 62 points in 67 regular season games, and set new career highs in goals (25 – tied for team lead) and assists (37).

See full list of finalists HERE.

Six of the seven awards are voted on by OHL Member Teams; teams were asked to submit one nominee from their club for consideration on the ballot and were not permitted to vote for the player from their own hockey club.  The first stage of voting was by conference only with the top three players from each conference making the final ballot to be voted on by all 20 OHL General Managers.

All finalists for the Red Tilson Trophy were nominated by the Member Teams of the Ontario Hockey League as their Most Outstanding Player for the 2014-15 regular season.  The Red Tilson Trophy is voted on by the sports writers and broadcasters in the OHL.

The 2015 OHL Awards Ceremony takes place on Tuesday June 9 at the Hockey Hall of Fame in Toronto, however award recipients will be announced periodically throughout the 2015 OHL Playoffs.  Additional player awards to be announced include Humanitarian of the Year, Academic Players of the Year, and the 2014-15 Mickey Renaud Captain’s Trophy recipient.  

More News
RANGERS VISION: Top 5 - Shootout Moments
1 day ago
RANGERS VISION: Declan McDonnell Interview
2 days ago
Declan McDonnell commits to OHL Standard Player Agreement
2 days ago
RANGERS VISION: Spring Camp - Francesco Pinelli
3 days ago
RANGERS VISION: Top 5 - Deflected Goals
1 week ago
RANGERS VISION: Spring Camp - Jesse Fishman
1 week ago