Adam Mascherin third in voting for Most Outstanding Player of the Year

Ontario Hockey League


The Ontario Hockey League today announced that Chicago Blackhawks prospect Alex DeBrincat of the Erie Otters is the 2016-17 recipient of the Red Tilson Trophy awarded to the OHL’s Most Outstanding Player of the Year as voted by the writers and broadcasters that cover the league. Kitchener Rangers’ winger and Florida Panthers prospect Adam Mascherin finished third in voting.

The Red Tilson Trophy is the most prestigious individual award presented by the Ontario Hockey League.  First presented in 1945, the trophy is named in honour of Albert “Red” Tilson, who was killed in action in Europe during World War II. Tilson was the OHA scoring champion for the 1942-43 season after scoring 19 goals and 38 assists for 57 points in 22 games with the Oshawa Generals.

Accredited media were asked to select their top three choices from the 20 nominees submitted by all 20 member clubs.  Players received five points for a first place selection, three points for second place and one point for a third place selection.  DeBrincat received 314 points in the voting process including first place votes on 85% of all ballots while receiving a top-three selection from 97% of the media polled.  Montreal Canadiens prospect and OHL Goaltender of the Year Michael McNiven of the Owen Sound Attack finished in second with 157 voting points, followed by Mascherin with 34 voting points.

DeBrincat led the OHL with 127 points in 63 games scoring a league-high 65 goals along with 62 assists and a plus-minus rating of plus-60.  His offensive production helped the Otters capture a second straight Hamilton Spectator Trophy as first overall in the regular season, a third straight Midwest Division crown, and a Canadian Hockey League record fourth straight 50-win season.

Mascherin led the Rangers in points for a second straight season, reaching the 100-point milestone for the first time in his three-year OHL career. He earned the Jim Reilly Award as Rangers’ Scoring Champion, the 3-Star Award, and was named the winner of the Jim Malleck Memorial Trophy as Most Valuable Player at the Rangers’ 2016-17 end of season Awards Ceremony in April.

The Red Tilson Trophy winner is the OHL’s nominee for Canadian Hockey League Player of the Year presented at the CHL Awards Ceremony on Saturday May 27 during the 2017 Mastercard Memorial Cup in Windsor.  DeBrincat will also be formally presented with the Red Tilson Trophy at the OHL’s Awards Ceremony on Thursday June 8 at the Hockey Hall of Fame in Toronto.


More News
RANGERS VISION: Graduating Players
4 hours ago
Rangers and Sting complete trade
23 hours ago
Facility closure extension until at least May 4th
1 day ago
RANGERS VISION: Thank You, Greg Meireles
1 day ago
Jake Saves total announced for 2019/20 campaign
1 day ago
RANGERS VISION: Thank You, Jonathan Yantsis
2 days ago