Rangers name award winners at 2016 Awards Ceremony

Sylvia Pond

The Kitchener Rangers hosted their annual Awards Ceremony at the Aud on Saturday night.

Ryan MacInnis, Jeremy Bracco and Adam Mascherin were each multiple winners, as the night featured a total of 12 awards, along with a mixture of various video memories from the season and a Top-10 Goals of the Season Countdown.

Brian Brosnan, Miles Liberati and Brandon Robinson were also honoured at the onset of the night as the three Rangers overagers with photos and a framed game sheet of their first OHL regular season game.

List of 2015-16 winners:

Charles Chalkin Memorial: Best Performer in the Playoffs – Jeremy Bracco

The Charles Chalkin Memorial Award for Best Performer in the Playoffs is named after former Rangers director from the late 1960’s/early 1970’s, Charles Chalkin.

Some previous winners include: Brian Bellows, Gregory Campbell and John Gibson


3 Star Award Presented by 570 News – Ryan MacInnis

Each time a player is chosen as 1st, 2nd or 3rd Star, points are given to the player and accumulated at the end of the regular season.

Some previous winners include: Mikkel Boedker, Jeff Skinner and Ryan Murphy


Herchenrader Family Trophy: Best Defensive Ability – Frank Hora

The Herchenrader Family Trophy for Best Defensive Ability was donated by former director Alfred Herchenrader, his father Jake and their family.

Some previous winners include: Larry Robinson, Steve Eminger and Dan Kelly


Kitchener Rangers Most Popular Player Award – Jacob Cascagnette

Likability, respect, inspiration, and leading by example – these are just a few of the qualities that have belonged to the Rangers’ Most Popular Player – as voted on yearly by his teammates – over the years.

Some previous winners include: Paul Coffey, Jeff Skinner and Gabriel Landeskog


Jim McGeachie Memorial Trophy: Outstanding Team Effort – Mason Kohn

The Jim McGeachie Memorial Trophy is named in honour of former left winger Jim McGeachie, who passed away suddenly in a car accident in the summer of 1980 at the age of 19 while a member of the Rangers.

Some previous winners include: Mark Montanari, Matt Halischuk and Michael Catenacci


Bob “Snowy” Schlieman Award: Best Offensive Defenceman – Miles Liberati

The Bob ‘Snowy’ Schlieman Award is presented to the Best Offensive Defenceman on the Rangers squad.

The award is named after Rangers former longtime assistant trainer Bob ‘Snowy’ Schlieman.

Some previous winners include: Andre Benoit, Ryan Murphy and Max Iafrate


Les Bradley Memorial Award: Most Improved Player – Adam Mascherin

The Les Bradley Memorial Award is named after longtime Rangers trainer Les Bradley. Bradley was a mainstay on the bench from 1969-1986, then after retiring as the team trainer, spent more than 15 years as a team ambassador in the press room.

Some previous winners include: Matt Pepe, Mike Morrison and Cody Sol


Ted Scharf Humanitarian Award Sponsored by KSA – Nick Magyar

The Ted Scharf Humanitarian Award, sponsored by the Kitchener Sports Association, follows the KSA motto of “True Sportsmen Make Good Citizens.”

This award is in recognition of the Rangers player who contributed most to our community during the regular season.

Some previous winners include: David Clarkson, Jason Akeson and Ben Fanelli


Michael Pappert Memorial Trophy: Rookie of the Year – Elijah Roberts

The Michael Pappert Memorial Trophy, named after a former Rangers director from the 1960’s, acknowledges the efforts, accomplishments and great strides made by one of the Rangers rookies during the past season.

Some previous winners include: Scott Stevens, Mike Richards and Radek Faksa


Jim Reilly Trophy: Team Scoring Leader – Adam Mascherin and Ryan MacInnis

The Jim Reilly Trophy for Team Scoring Leader is named after Rangers past director, Jim Reilly.

Some previous winners include: Dwight Foster, Derek Roy and Josh Leivo


Blueline Club Trophy:Most Gentlemanly Player – Jeremy Bracco

Presented to the player who best embodies the sportsmanship and respect for the game in true Rangers fashion.

Some previous winners include: Paul Reinhart, Nick Spaling and Tobias Rieder


Jim Malleck Memorial Trophy: Most Valuable Player – Ryan MacInnis

The Jim Malleck Memorial Trophy for Most Valuable Player is named after former Director and Past President through the 1960’s and into the 1970’s, Jim Malleck.

Some previous winners include: Derek Roy, Mike Richards and Jason Akeson

More News
OHL Statement on Return to Play Plans for 2020-21 Season
1 day ago
Holden Wale commits to Windsor for 2021-22
1 day ago
Rangers Community Assists: Week 5 Winner Announced
5 days ago
Rangers Community Assists: Week 4 Winner Announced
2 weeks ago
Francesco Pinelli to Represent Team Canada at 2021 IIHF U18 World Championship
2 weeks ago
Mark Fraser joins The Kitchener Rangers Alumni Mentorship Program
2 weeks ago